Fire Keeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley

QOTD: What are your most anticipated new books of this month (or this year)?
__
Fire Keeper’s Daughter
Angeline Boulley
#arcreview
__
“Everything has strings attached. Unintended consequences. The shove from behind that you never saw coming.”

This book is YA but it didn’t feel YA to me. It was dealing with so many adult issues from the viewpoint of a high school student.

Daunis Fontaine is part of the Ojibwe community in Michigan where hockey is life. When one of her friends is tragically murdered in front of her she gets pulled into something she wasn’t aware was right under her nose. An insidious disease that was eating her community from the inside out. She slowly uncovers more clues as more people are found dead. Who is dealing to her community? Also, are there really criptids involved or are there hallucinogenics? 

The spiritual journey that they described that the soul takes, the four day journey was so beautiful. I will tell you when I laid on my Dad and felt his last breath I walked up and down the hallways of the hospital smiling and telling him how much I loved him hoping he was lingering. I was also an emotional 6 month pregnant mess and needed my Daddy. 

I love the way Daunis thinks, problem solves. She doesn’t want to quick fix but to fix this problem into the next seven generations. The way we should all try to think when acting for our community and world, not only for the immediate but the future impact. Her hopeful outlook is inspiring and I loved the degree path she chose.

There was also a fake relationship with an undercover agent which got a little blurred the closer they got.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Miigwetch @netgalley and @henryholtbooks for the e-ARC for my honest and voluntary review. 

I loved reading their language and cultural traditions, daily rituals, family structures, her memories. It was all so beautiful. 

Mixed in with the horribly tragic events. Women should be defended when men violate their bodies. Full stop. There shouldn’t be protections for him to be a predator. 

TW: drug abuse, suicide, rape

#firekeepersdaughter #angelineboulley #macmillan #henryholt  #ownvoices #youngadult #ojibwe #yathriller #slowburn #fakerelationship

Rep Post : candle in picture from Shadowicks on Etsy use LAURA10 to save

Synopsis:

Debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother.

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and traditional medicine. But the deceptions—and deaths—keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home.

Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s