She’s Too Pretty To Burn by Wendy Heard

QOTD: What is your Net Galley percentage, how many books do you have in you backlog or what is your next ARC read?
__
She’s Too Pretty To Burn
Wendy Heard
#arcreview
Pub Date 3/30/21
__
I am sure you have seen this gorgeous cover all over bookstagram. I’m posting a few days after the pub date. 

This book was so intense. It was a ya psychological thriller. A sapphic reimagining of the Picture of Dorian Gray. 

The romance between Mick(ayla) and Veronica was very whirlwind and love at first sight. As Mick gets tossed out of her house and tests the immediate chemistry they have by asking to stay with her. Mick is a competitive swimmer with a toxic model mother. Mick is terrified of having her picture taken. Veronica an aspiring photographer takes an amazing shot that goes viral.

This book had fascinating art installation pieces that I didn’t realize are things but may just be environmental and political terrorism masking as art the way it escalated. I love art and the art community but there are lines and I’m sure they majority of us wouldn’t cross them.

The name of the book takes on a different meaning the farther in you get. And I was so worried for Mick with her unforgiving selfish mother having to make adult choices so she wouldn’t have to live on the streets. So many difficult choices stacking on top of them. At least there were a few good people that she could rely on if only they would believe her. 

I’m a little terrorized by all the villain was doing and uh I’m pretty sure the metaphor at the end of you get one and another will always take their place.

I took this picture before I finished with two of my favorite witch besties who happen to be mermaids in this pic from @atouchofmagicdesigns they are also too pretty to burn.

Beautiful stickers by @emilycromwelldesigns

Thank you @netgalley and @henryholtbooks for the e-ARC for my honest and voluntary review.

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐💫

Synopsis:

An electric romance set against a rebel art scene sparks lethal danger for two girls in this expertly plotted YA thriller. For fans of E. Lockhart, Lauren Oliver and Kara Thomas.

The summer is winding down in San Diego. Veronica is bored, caustically charismatic, and uninspired in her photography. Nico is insatiable, subversive, and obsessed with chaotic performance art. They’re artists first, best friends second. But that was before Mick. Delicate, lonely, magnetic Mick: the perfect subject, and Veronica’s dream girl. The days are long and hot―full of adventure―and soon they are falling in love. Falling so hard, they never imagine what comes next. One fire. Two murders. Three drowning bodies. One suspect . . . one stalker. This is a summer they won’t survive.

Inspired by The Picture of Dorian Gray, this sexy psychological thriller explores the intersections of love, art, danger, and power.

“Wild and satisfying.” —Kirkus Starred Review

⋆ An O Magazine 42 LGBTQ Books That Will Change the Literary Landscape This Spring Selection
⋆ A Cosmo Best YA Books of 2021
⋆ A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

Christy Ottaviano Books

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s