My Fine Fellow by Jennieke Cohen

🍴BOOK TOUR🍴
__
My Fine Fellow
by Jennieke Cohen
Pub Date: 1/11/2022
__
These books are so gorgeous! My copy of Dangerous Alliance with sprayed edges by @bookish_signs . I just love covers with intricate designs with lettering or borders.

This is a standalone and runs along the storyline of My Fair Lady but with Mr. Elijah Little the street food seller that Helena Higgins and Penelope Pickering Culinarian students wish to use as a school project. He far surpasses their expectations, well at least Penelope’s. Helena is a bit high in the instep and only thinking of her own self interest, where his success is concerned.

Penelope is half Filipino and half English but presents white. Helena can not understand what her life is like considering she ignores Penelope’s heritage and discounts it. Considering the times and her class it seems accurate but as her friend what a b.

Elijah, who is Jewish gets entered into a gentleman’s contest for the culinary arts and Helena finds nothing wrong in deceiving everyone. Let’s just say Helena has lots of groveling to do later.

I loved the premise of their project that they wanted to prove that anyone could be taught to be a gentleman/woman and be from anywhere in society. They did prove their theory. And watching Elijah go from a dirty street kid to a handsome young man, which I don’t think they realized, was there was fun.

The longing between the two characters when there was someone standing in the way was frustrating. I don’t mind the miscommunication trope, you know why? How many people actually confront others or say things as they are when they want to? I am not talking about in the shower or 3 hours later. It makes it that much sweeter when they realize they wanted to be with each other.

Also, this book and the food! 🤤

Thankyou @jennieke_cohen , @harperteen n, @kccpr and @letstalkbookspromo for my gifted e-ARC and for having me on this tour!

Q: What is your favorite food?

Synopsis:

Culinary delights abound, romance lingers in the air, and plans go terribly, wonderfully astray in this gender-bent take on My Fair Lady from Jennieke Cohen, author of Dangerous Alliance—perfect for fans of Bridgerton or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

It’s 1830s England, and Culinarians—doyens who consult with society’s elite to create gorgeous food and confections—are the crème de la crème of high society.

Helena Higgins, top of her class at the Royal Academy, has a sharp demeanor and an even sharper palate—and knows stardom awaits her if she can produce greatness in her final year.

Penelope Pickering is going to prove the value of non-European cuisine to all of England. Her contemporaries may scorn her Filipina heritage and her dishes, but with her flawless social graces and culinary talents, Penelope is set to prove them wrong.

Elijah Little has nothing to his name but a truly excellent instinct for flavors. London merchants won’t allow a Jewish boy to own a shop, so he hawks his pasties for a shilling a piece to passersby—but he knows with training he can break into the highest echelon of society.

When Penelope and Helena meet Elijah, a golden opportunity arises: to pull off a project never seen before, and turn Elijah from a street vendor to a gentleman chef.

But Elijah’s transformation will have a greater impact on this trio than they originally realize—and mayhem, unseemly faux pas, and a little romance will all be a part of the delicious recipe.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s