Sense and Second-Degree Murder by Tirzah Price

Sense and Second-Degree Murder
by Tirzah Price
Pub Date – 4/5/22
__
This is the second in the series following the storyline and spirit of the original Austen stories but adding a Mystery.
These Dashwood sisters are even more independent and advantageous than the originals. I really enjoyed following them trying to solve this mystery. Their father had taught them what he knew in his investigating and even had them accompany him.
Fanny is just as horrible in this book than the other. She’s the perfect petty selfish character that everyone hates, and everyone knows of one of these people in their life.
I didn’t want to put this book down!
The characters have similar names and characters from her original book but were doing much different things.
The mystery kept unraveling and things they didn’t realize were related were connected. Then when it all panned out it was a much bigger conclusion than they were expecting.
The two sisters trying to stay in the same occupation as their father and finding support from the two men they ended up with was great!
Loved the chemistry experiments!

Tw: drugs, death


Thank you HarperCollins Children’s Books, HarperTeen and Net Galley for the e-ARC for my honest and voluntary review.

Synopsis:
In this second book of the Jane Austen Murder Mystery series, Tirzah Price takes readers for another fun, murderous romp through one of Austen’s beloved novels. Perfect for fans of The Lady Janies and Stalking Jack the Ripper. A Junior Library Guild pick!

When eighteen-year-old aspiring scientist Elinor Dashwood discovers her beloved father slumped over the desk of his office study, she knows his death means dire straits for the Dashwood women. To make matters worse, an outdated will entails his estate—including Norland & Company, the private investigation firm where her younger sister Marianne worked as her father’s partner and protégé—to their half-brother and his haughty wife, who waste no time in forcing the Dashwoods out of their home and into a cramped apartment on London’s Barton Street.

But before they go, the Dashwood sisters make a startling discovery: a suspicious substance in their father’s teacup—one that can only be described as poison. And poison, as Marianne’s father taught her, always points to murder.

It could be dangerous; it could ruin their reputations; and most importantly, it won’t bring back their father. But if the Dashwood sisters can combine their talents and bring their father’s murderer to justice, it may bring them all some comfort—and it might even lead to love.

“Pride and Premeditation is a romantic and entertaining page-turner, sure to delight readers of any genre.” —Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s