A Lady for a Duke by Alexis Hall

A Lady for a Duke
by Alexis Hall
Pub Date – 5/24/22
__
A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!

I adored this book!!!!!

I finished a few days ago and just 🥰

Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo. She decided to live her life finally as herself but she left her best friend grieving and she lost her title and wealth.

Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood has been a ghost of himself since he lost his best friend. He searched everywhere for a body to bring back to bury but found nothing. He’s been living with crippling injuries and pain to add to the mental and psychological anguish. He’s living in an alcohol and pain reliever haze.

A family friend shows up to check on his younger sister who should be readying herself for a come out and finds he’s a mess. His sister won’t leave him in his state. And his family friend’s companion, Viola is helping him and so understanding and beautiful…. 

Omg I loved this book! There was so much between these two soulmates. They had found each other then found each other again. And that epilogue!! 😍 5⭐

There are tw so be mindful.

❓ Do you like epilogues?
I love when they go out a year or 10 to how the relationship is going. Epilogues may be a romance thing. I always want to know what happened after the hea. Just a little glimpse is nice or seeing them show up in sequels. 

Thank you readforeverpub and netgalley for the e-ARC for my honest and voluntary review.

Synopsis:

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Manda Collins!

When Viola Caroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title, and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood.

Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognises her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become.

As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s