To Marry and to Meddle by Martha Waters

To Marry and to Meddle
by Martha Waters
Pub Date- 4/5/2022
__

This is the 3rd in The Regency Vows series. I haven’t read the first two which after meeting the other two couples in this book and getting a little clue of the antics they got up to I think I will.

Lady Emily Turner is on her 6th season and only has one suitor who basically is her father’s creditor. She’s beautiful and others are interested but can’t get past her gatekeepers.

Lord Julian who is the 2nd son of an Earl but estranged due to his owning a bawdy theater. He’s trying to change his image so more respectable people will come. So he decides a marriage of convenience with Lady Emily will be perfect!

I enjoyed this book so much! Julian was a handsome rogue and Emily with her perfect image finally could let her voice be heard. There was some unexpected steam, love the historical steam.. and the unexpected forearm.

I need to read the others since the banter with the married couples was so funny.

❓ What are your last, now , next reads?

My last The Never King, now Out of his league, next the younger wife 

Thank you atriabooks and netgalley for the e-ARC for my honest and voluntary review.

Synopsis:

The “sweet, sexy, and utterly fun” (Emily Henry, author of The People We Meet on Vacation) Regency Vows series continues with a witty, charming, and joyful novel following a seasoned debutante and a rakish theater owner as they navigate a complicated marriage of convenience.

Lady Emily Turner has been a debutante for six seasons now and should have long settled into a suitable marriage. However, due to her father’s large debts, her only suitor is the persistent and odious owner of her father’s favorite gambling house. Meanwhile, Lord Julian Belfry, the second son of a marquess, has scandalized society as an actor and owner of a theater—the kind of establishment where men take their mistresses, but not their wives. When their lives intersect at a house party, Lord Julian hatches a plan to benefit them both.

With a marriage of convenience, Emily will use her society connections to promote the theater to a more respectable clientele and Julian will take her out from under the shadows of her father’s unsavory associates. But they soon realize they have very different plans for their marriage—Julian wants Emily to remain a society wife, while Emily discovers an interest in the theater. But when a fleeing actress, murderous kitten, and meddlesome friends enter the fray, Emily and Julian will have to confront the fact that their marriage of convenience comes with rather inconvenient feelings.

With “an arch sense of humor and a marvelously witty voice that rivals the best of the Regency authors” (Entertainment Weekly), Martha Waters crafts another fresh romantic comedy that for fans of Julia Quinn and Evie Dunmore.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s